Fountain Of Snow
1992 CD UK Durtro DURTRO010CD
In jewel case
Track Listing
  1. All Things Are Quite Silent (2:38)
  2. Cambridegshire May Carol (1:23)
  3. Polly Vaughan (2:46)
  4. The Cruel Mother (5:54)
  5. Streets Of Derry (3:32)
  6. Brigg Fair (2:19)
  7. Higher Germaine (2:44)
  8. George Collins (3:42)
  9. Down In Yon Forest (2:34)
  10. The False True Love (3:35)
  11. The Sweet Primeroses (3:32)
  12. Down By The Seaside (2:49)
  13. Adieu To Old England (2:01)
  14. I Sing Of A Maiden (1:48)
  15. One Night As I Lay In My Bed (4:43)
  16. Lancashire Lass (3:00)
  17. Never Again (2:02)
  18. Lord Allenwater (5:30)
  19. Gilderoy (4:48)
  20. The Moon Shines Bright (2:07)
  21. The False Bride (4:18)
  22. Locks And Bolts (3:03)
  23. Rambleaway (3:31)
  24. A Blacksmith Courted Me (2:41)
Bill Leader
John Marshall
Bob Stewart
Derek Tompkins
Nic Kinsey
Ashley Hutchings
Philip Pickett
Michael Gregory
John Call
Tony Engle
Sleeve Notes
This CD is a re-issue of most of the music recorded by my sister Dolly and me for Topic Records from 1963 to 1978. Listening again to these tracks confirms my love for English traditional music, which I believe has two important functions: firstly it links us with our past in a way which is both mysterious and powerful, and secondly, it is the voice of countless generations of labouring people whose work was exploited but not acknowledged, whose welfare was neglected, and who were rarely honoured in our history books. I find it remarkable that people who lived such hard lives had the spirit to produce songs of such beauty and subtlety, but it is small wonder that so many of the songs are melancholy.

It seems like a miracle to me that these songs survived at all, having been passed down for centuries by word of mouth alone. i was fortunate enough to be born into a family that in everyday life sang songs which were to me a perfect expression of what I thought and felt. I was privileged, too, to have heard several old traditional singers in the '50's. Listening to them I learned to understand and respect the music, and, like them, to sing with my natural voice.

Every song is credited to the person from whom it was collected. The singers' names may not be known to you, but they are links in the chain, and it is important to me that I acknowledge them.

I would like to thank David Tibet for making the whole venture possible and for his faith in the music.

My sister and I would like to dedicate this collection to our mother, Dorothy Florence Ball, for her love, support and encouragement all through our lives.

Shirley Collins, Brighton, December 1991

Track details
1-11 are taken from "The Sweet Primeroses", originally released in 1967 (Topic 12T 170). Shirley - guitar and 5-string banjo, Dolly Collins - portative organ and arrangements (tracks 1, 5, 8 & 11). Recorded by Bill Leader and produced by John Marshall.
12-15 are from "Adieu To Old England", originally issued in 1974 (Topic 12TS 238). Shirley - guitar and 5-string banjo, Dolly - flute-organ (tracks 12, 14 and 15), Bob Stewart - plucked psaltery (track 15). Recorded by Derek Tompkins and Nic Kinsey, produced by Ashley Hutchings. 16-20 are taken from Shirley and Dolly Collins "For As Many As Will" (Topic 12TS 380) released in 1978. 16 :Shirley - vocals, Dolly - fulte-organ; Philip Pickett - recorders. 17 : Shirley - vocals, Dolly - piano. 18 : Shirley - vocals, Dolly - piano and flute-organ, Philip Pickett - cornet, Michael Gregory - percussion. 19 Shirley - vocals, Dolly - piano, Philip Pickett - tenor curtal and cornett. 20 Shirley - vocals, Dolly - flute-organ, Philip Pickett - recorders. Recorded by John Call and produced by Tony Engle.
21-24 consist of the four tracks from the 1963 "Heroes In Love" 7" EP (Topic 95)
All tracks are stereo, except 9. 10 and 21 - 24. (p) Topic Records 1963, 1967, 1974, 1978. © Durtro 1992. Released under licence from Topic Records.

Since I first heard Shirley some seven years ago, I have been captivated by her voice and her approach to the songs she loves.
These songs remain everfresh in her, and it is an honour to have been able to release this compilation. The True Love Knot lives on...
I would like to thank the following people for their help:
Starfish for typesetting and more; Steven Stapleton for advice; Babs Santini for the cover and lettering; James Mannox; Tony engle; Dave Kenny; Phil Wilson; Nick Saloman; Cyke Bancroft; and - most of all - Shirley...
This selection was compiled by Shirley Collins and David Tibet in December 1991, and remastered from the orginal tapes at Topic Studios in the same month by David Kenny and David Tibet. It was cut at Porky's by Denis - thanks yet again.
David Tibet, London, March 1992.
Includes lyrics, not reproduced here