Cover Image





catalog #:


formats available:


Release Date:

May 22, 2006

Fourth full-length from Vancouver-based sound artist Scott Morgan. He continues to refine the visual aspect of his performances and recently released a download-only drone album on net label, One.

Press for First Narrows:

    "..a work of drifting coherence and gently blurred boundaries" - The Wire

    "..there is an undeniable spiritual quality and sense of serenity that not only extends to the track but also permeates the whole album" - Signal to Noise

    "a barbit-blanket-blankout of atmospheria that quietly gets on with being gently unprepossessing. And that ain't easy" - Plan B

    "It's the sound of winter and spring convening at once, bound up in confusion over precisely who is arriving and who is departing." - Splendid

    "Slow suffocation, with rhythm." - Dusted

Scott Morgan notes: "Compositionally, many tracks on Plume are similar in approach to First Narrows; they started with a harmonic root from which sounds were processed into a loose structure over which the live players could improvise. There was substantially less editing this time around with the live tracks. I opted to choose the better improvised passes and merely mix them in and out rather than cut them up. I think this leaves a lot more natural space and balances the heavily structured and repetitive electronic elements with more organic performed layers. Jason Zumpano returned from the First Narrows ensemble and I also recruited long time friend Steve Wood and my partner Krista to play some ebow guitar as well as Josh Lindstrom to play some Xylophone and Vibraphone which I believe added a nice new element into the mix.

Thematically, I stuck with things that are quintessentially loscil; flow, subtle movement, gradual transition, growth. Also of significance to this album is the family connection. "Charlie" was composed after seeing/hearing my daughter Sadie through ultrasound while she was still in the womb. The track was also partly composed as a womb-like sound experience for her to sleep to after she was born, hence the heart beats..."


  1. Motoc - [MP3]
  2. Rorscach
  3. Zephyr
  4. Steam - [MP3]
  5. Chinook
  6. Bellows
  7. Halcyon - [MP3]
  8. Charlie
  9. Mistral