Every Bright Body Gleams Green

Cover Image

FR CD, Noise Museum NM072035
  1. Testing - [MP3]
  2. Steel Jaw and Gentle Mirage on a (Cape) Horn of Dilemma
  3. Ideogram Mountains Take Her and Shrine Bursts - [MP3]
  4. Sacrifices, Death and Companions
  5. Golden Underground Surfers of Rosemary
  6. Red Navy Trumpeteers in a Pianola Gale Force 9
  7. Sunlight Perched Here - [MP3]
  8. Autumn Temple Grows Legs - [MP3]

Aranos - all instruments
Art Concept: Bare Bala and Babs Santini

Since his first album ARANOS (aka Petr Vastl) has collaborated on the latest projects by Nurse With Wound and Current 93. For his second full length album, he still plays the violin, but increases his musical universe through the use of percussion, electronics, mandolin and on some tracks he experiments with vocals.

Thanks to: Steve Stapleton, Anne Sheridan, Max Hafler, Takacs Quartet, Sir Peter Maxwell Davies
Finalised Design: Fred Voisin @ The Wicked Studio

Though he has a prior career as a multi-instrumentalist (concentrating on string instruments) in various folk traditions, including Irish and gypsy music, the Czech-born musician known as Aranos maintains a parallel preoccupation with electro-acoustic sound collages, of which Every Bright Body Gleams Green is a fine example. There is often a loose rhythmic element tying the various taped sounds together, a cyclic rasp or a cloudily throbbing, barely heard pulse, for example. This tends to give what might otherwise be heard as a highly abstract assemblage some amount of cohesion, just enough for the works to convincingly occupy their space and draw the listener along for the ride. The lengthy second cut achieves a nearly ideal balance. Interpolating found sounds, electronic drones, the odd musical sample, and even (one suspects) some of Aranos' violin playing, he achieves a work of cinematic scale that is richly satisfying. The third track, oddly and very successfully, ventures into something approaching song form with strangely chanted vocals and an off-kilter reel-like structure. In "Red Navy Trumpeteers in a Pianola Gale Force 9," a slightly jazzy feel is attained via a jagged piano riff and some plaintive reeds, and this then segues into a keening lament led by microtonally tuned strings. The final piece appears to rather humorously wink out of existence mid-violin stroke after barely a minute, but a close listen uncovers tiny, almost inaudible shards of sound lingering underfoot for a while. After about three minutes of this nearly empty expanse, fluted, breathy tones emerge, painting a hazy, enticing landscape in grays. This enveloping drone continues for the duration of the disc, modulating in intensity like windswept fog. Every Bright Body Gleams Green is a unique, dark, and visionary work, worthy of investigation by adventurous listeners of all stripes. - Brian Olewnick

Vastl encompasses the microscopic stage of cellular division and the immense theater of prenatal planetary systems. Silver strings are strummed, horns blown, bells rung, the voice of each allowed to echo across time. Communication satellites leak data through faulty wires. A diva waxes operatic within the vacuum of an astrophysical void. Cosmic riggings creak and complain as the good ship Earth sails through the stars. A gypsy band, its members scattered throughout the firmament, plays on. On most tracks, only the residue remains of the violin that figured so prominently on earlier Aranos efforts, adding to the dust and debris caught within the eddies of the album's sphere. Every Bright Body presents open ears with an intimate enormousness, as contradictory and absurdly beautiful as the universe itself. - Gil Gershman