• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

David First, "Same Animal, Different Cages Vol. 4: Sitar Music of North Brooklyn"

E-mail Print PDF

cover imageAs the conclusion to his Same Animal, Different Cages project, Brooklyn composer David First has again chosen to use an instrument with more limited applications than the first installments two (guitar and synth).  The sitar has a very distinctive sound and specific cultural associations (which First discusses his struggle with in the liner notes).  Aware of this, he pushes the boundaries of what a single instrument can represent, and also showcases his exceptional skills as both a composer and performer.

Last Updated on Monday, 25 March 2019 10:06

Podcast Episode 409: March 24, 2019

E-mail Print PDF

Episode #409 of Brainwashed Radio: The Podcast Edition is now live.Aa from Osaka

We recognize Women's History Month with a special podcast of new music by women. This episode features Marissa Nadler & Stephen Brodsky, Ellen Allien, Maja S. K. Ratkje, Maria Somerville, Nivhek, Virgin Pool, Alexandra Spence, Caterina Barbieri, Aïsha Devi, and Sarah Louise.

Thanks to Aa for the picture from Osaka, Japan.

iTunes Google Play

Last Updated on Sunday, 24 March 2019 19:38

Forced Exposure New Releases for the Week of 3/25/2019

E-mail Print PDF

New music is due from Controlled Death, KTL, and Yamila, while old music is due from MSBR, the 39 Clocks, and Dome.


Scott Walker, 1943-2019

E-mail Print PDF

We are very saddened to learn of the loss of Scott Walker and our hearts go out to his surviving family and friends.

Walker's work in the 1960s, both solo and with the Walker Brothers, has influenced a staggering amount of music that we cover here at brainwashed, while his more experimental work over the last few decades has solidified his role as one of the most important contemporary avant-garde composers.

For an extensive eulogy including a timeline of his career, please read what his label, 4AD has posted.



1999 Readers Poll Recount: The Results

E-mail Print PDF

Thanks again to everyone who participated in the Recount of the 1999 Annual Brainwashed Readers Poll.

The original vote which took place at the end of 1999 was clearly less expansive and inclusive, however the new top picks aren't drastically different than the original vote for the most part. Numerous releases which have now charted weren't even on the radar of most readers at the time while other releases have noticeably dropped in popularity due to changing times and changing opinions.

No more polls until the end of 2019.

  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Page 1 of 12


Donate towards our web hosting bill!
		at the iTunes store