• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Tod Dockstader, 1932-2015

E-mail Print PDF

Not only was Tod Dockstader an important pioneer in the field of electronic music and tape manipulation, but he was also a neighbor and friend, living his last years in the Brainwashed hometown of Arlington, Massachusetts. Dockstader is arguably most famous for his 1960 composition Eight Electronic Pieces, used in the 1969 film Satyricon by Fellini, and most unknowingly famous for the sound effects he created for cartoons such as Tom & Jerry and Mr. Magoo. Other notable compositions included Quatermass from 1964 and Drone from 1962. Dockstader was productive through the early part of this century with the Aerial trilogy surfacing on Sub Rosa between 2004 and 2006.


Happy Birthday Gordon Mumma!

E-mail Print PDF Wishes for Gordon Mumma, who turns 80 on March 30th! Mumma, originally a French Horn player, was an early electronic music pioneer, founding the Cooperative Studio for Electronic Music with Robert Ashley in 1958. Mumma was recently featured by The Guardian in their ongoing series, The 101 Strangest Records on Spotify.  Read more info on Gordon at his brainwashed site or his own blog (which hasn't been updated recently, but is still chock-full of info).

Last Updated on Tuesday, 31 March 2015 20:49

High-Functioning Flesh, "Definite Structures"

E-mail Print PDF

cover imageLast year's A Unity of Miseries-A Misery of Unities grabbed me quickly and became one of my absolute favorite albums that came out in 2014.  The songs that were re-recorded from their demo tape were excellent, and the new compositions that premiered on that record were even stronger.  So of course I had high hopes for the Susan Subtract and Greg Vand's sophomore record, and I am not at all disappointed.  Strong beats, glorious pawnshop synth sounds and memorable songwriting come together brilliantly on Definite Structures.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 26 May 2015 15:29

Forced Exposure New Releases for 5/25/2015

E-mail Print PDF

New music is due from Valet, Thomas Brinkmann, Retribution Body, Oiseaux-Tempête, and Vision Heat, while old music is due from ZNR (Hector Zazou and Joseph Racaille), The Cocoon, and Robbie Basho.


Andrew Hock, "Crystalline Privative Opulence"

E-mail Print PDF

cover imageAndrew Hock has carved out a niche for himself as a guitarist for bands including Psalm Zero and the recently deceased Castevet, but this makes for his first truly solo release.  Crystalline Privative Opulence, featuring additional wind instrumentation by Jeremiah Cymerman and Davindar Singh, showcases his skill with a guitar as well as electronics but more so his sense of composition amongst these two side-long songs.

Last Updated on Monday, 25 May 2015 08:52
  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Page 1 of 8


Donate towards our web hosting bill!
		at the iTunes store