Live 3 May 1997
1997 May Live UK London
Union Chapel
Track Listing
  1. Introduction - loop from "Where The Long Shadows Fall"
  2. Twilight Twilight Nihil Nihil [durtro056]
  3. Calling For Vanished Faces I [durtro056]
  4. The Death Of The Corn [durtro056]
  5. Coal Black Smith
  6. Horsey [durtro056]
  7. The Descent Of Long Satan And Babylon [durtro056]
  8. In The Heart Of The Wood And What I Found There [durtro056]
  9. Be [durtro056]
  10. Black Flowers Please [durtro056]
  11. Mary Waits in Silence [durtro056]
  12. Calling for Vanished Faces II [durtro056]
  13. Since Yesterday (Rose McDowall vocals) [durtro056]
  14. The Blue Gates Of Death [durtro056]
  15. The Bloodbells Chime [durtro056]
  16. All the World Makes Great Blood [durtro056]
  17. The Great, Bloody and Bruised Veil of This World [durtro056]
  18. Dormition and Dominion [durtro056]
  19. So: This Empire is Nothing [durtro056]
  20. This Shining Shining World
  1. A Sadness Song [durtro056]
  2. Christ And The Pale Queens Mighty In Sorrow
  3. Happy Birthday [durtro056]
David Tibet - vocals
Rose McDowall - guitar, vocals and bells
Michael Cashmore - guitar and drums
Joolie Wood - vocals, violin, recorder, clarinet and tambourine
Karl Blake - bass
John Balance - voice and Chapman stick
James Mannox - drums
Big Bucks Burnett - guitar
Martin Stone - guitar
William Breeze - electric viola
Timothy d'Arch Smith - voice
Ronan Quays opened for Current 93 at this concert. This extraordinary performance started with John Balance, Bill Breeze and Timothy D'Arch Smith reading parts at the same time, who then left the stage as Tibet, Rose McDowall, Joolie Wood and Karl Blake came out and formed the lineup for the majority of the show. A highlight of the performance was Rose McDowall doing vocals on the Strawberry Switchblade cover "Since Yesterday". During the encore when "Christ and the Pale Queens" was played, a bunch of extras came out on stage including Big Bucks Burnett (Tiny Tim fan extraordinaire, who conceptualized and produced the Tiny Tim album Songs Of An Impotent Troubadour which Tibet released on the Durtro label) on guitar, James Mannox on drums (along with Michael Cashmore), John Balance on bass, Bill Breeze on viola, and Martin Stone also on guitar. After this the extras left, and having played most of the songs, Tibet & Co. were at a loss for what to play. Tibet settled on "Happy Birthday" to end the night. A recording of this concert was later released on CD in 2001 as Cats Drunk On Copper.
Other Images