Jessica Bailiff
Feels Like Home

Cover Image
Jessica Bailiff - Feels Like Home

July 10, 2006

US CD Kranky KRANK097

  1. What's Inside Your Mind? - [MP3]
  2. We Were Once
  3. Lakeside Blues - [FULL MP3]
  4. Brother La
  5. Persuasion
  6. Cinq - [MP3]
  7. Spiral Dream
  8. Evidence
  9. Pressing - [MP3]
  10. If We Could
  11. With You - [MP3]

Jessica Bailiff - vocals, guitars,, percussion, strings, recorder, folk instruments, recording, mixing, etc.
Jesse Edwards - bass guitar on "Lakeside Blues," recorded JB's main guitar part on "We Were Once"
Gary Murray - kopp hollow-body electric guitar on "Brother La"
Melinda Sabo - brass tambourine
Nelly Josephine and Iulia - russian singing and talking on "Spiral Dream"
Warren Defever - silverizing
Laurent Orseau - photo, "square dolls #14"
Craig McCaffrey - sleeve design

Feels Like Home balances the more accoustic approach to Jessica's songwriting on her most recent (untitled) album with the blissed electricity found on her earlier material. Gossamer vocals hover over delicate melodies, accented by tasteful bits of percussion, piano filigrees, and sundry guitar sounds. Feels Like Home is the most refined example of Jessica Bailiff's musical vision to date.

It's the first full length of solo material from Jessica in 4 years but she's been doing anything but taking a break. Check her fruitful collaborations with Dave Pearce (as Clear Horizon), Rachel Goldstar (as Eau Claire), and Jesse Edwards (as Northern Song Dynasty), as well as a featured appearance on Odd Nosdam's latest album where she made vocal and instrumental contributions.