Sweeney, "Misery Peaks"

Sound In Silence is proud to welcome back Sweeney, presenting his new album Misery Peaks.

For about twenty years Jason Sweeney, now based on Kaurna Country in South Australia, has been composing and recording either solo, under the alias of Panoptique Electrical, Other People’s Children and Simpático, or with friends in various musical projects like Pretty Boy Crossover, Sweet William, School of Two, Luxury Gap, Par Avion, Great Panoptique Winter, Mist & Sea, Winter Witches, GIRL and many others. He has also been directing and creating interactive works for the internet, experimental films, projects for galleries and theatre spaces and has collaborated with some of Australia’s leading performing arts companies and organizations.

Misery Peaks, Sweeney’s third full-length album, consists of eight highly emotional songs with a total duration of something more than 38 minutes. Constructed around Sweeney’s fragile vocals, layers of string section drones, slightly processed piano, cinematic cello samples performed and recorded by his frequent collaborators Zoë Barry and Jed Palmer respectively, minimal beats, subtle electronic glitches, other odd noises and field recordings, Misery Peaks perfectly blends melancholic songwriting, modern classical, electronic textures and ambient soundscapes.
Carefully mastered by George Mastrokostas (aka Absent Without Leave), Misery Peaks is a wonderful personal album about relationships, intimacy, brokenness and romanticism, highly recommended for devotees of Scott Walker, David Sylvian, Anohni and the quieter moments of Depeche Mode.

More information can be found here.