• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

The Durutti Column, "The Guitar and Other Machines (deluxe)"

E-mail Print PDF
Format : 3xCD  (3 disc set)
Cat No: FBN 204 CD (47 tracks)
Released: 12 January 2018


Factory Benelux presents an expanded 3x disc deluxe edition of The Guitar and Other Machines, the sixth studio album by Manchester ensemble The Durutti Column, originally released by Factory Records in 1987.

The origin of The Guitar and Other Machines was the Christmas present given by Factory founder Tony Wilson to Durutti mainman Vini Reilly in 1985. “He gave me another kick and bought me a load of electronic instruments,” revealed Reilly at the time. “I never dreamt of getting into this electronic thing, and I struggled and fought and stayed up til half seven in the morning and really worked on it. I know that Tony’s got this vision and I persevered. And I found a way of using a sequencer that isn’t like New Order – it’s my way, and it’s my music.”

Produced by Stephen Street (The Smiths; Morrissey), the album also features percussionist Bruce Mitchell and viola player John Metcalfe. Remastered in 2017, this new FBN edition restores all three bonus tracks included on the original Factory CD, being experimental pieces written and recorded with Jez Kerr and Simon Topping of A Certain Ratio.

Disc 2 gathers together a wealth of associated recordings, including the rare Greetings 3 EP (released only in Italy), non-album tracks such as Our Lady of the Angels, LFO Mod, and the exquisite acoustic instrumental Catos con Guantes. Other tracks on Disc 2 include various mixes of When the World (a video single at the time), oddball Jefferson Airplane cover White Rabbit (recorded in LA on a whim with guest vocalist Debi Diamond), and several ‘sporadic recordings’ which revisit themes first heard on the original album.

Disc 3 is an in-concert recording of the band taped at the famous Bottom Line club in New York City in October 1986, along with two further live tracks taped at the WOMAD festival in August 1988.

The 3xCD set is housed in a clamshell box with individual interior wallets. A double disc vinyl edition is also available, featuring the core studio album on Disc 1 and live versions of selected album tracks on Disc 2.

A double gatefold vinyl edition will also be released with the core album on Disc 1, and live selections on Disc 2

CD tracklist:
Disc 1
1. Arpeggiator
2. What It Is to Me (Woman)
3. Red Shoes
4. Jongleur Grey
5. When the World
6. U.S.P.
7. Bordeaux Sequence
8. Pol in B
9. English Landscape Tradition
10. Miss Haymes
11. Don’t Think You’re Funny
12. Dream Topping
13. You Won’t Feel Out of Place
14. 28 Oldham Street
15. LFO Mod
16. Catos con Guantes

Disc 2
1. Florence Sunset  
2. All That Love and Maths Can Do  
3. San Giovanni Dawn  
4. For Friends in Italy
5. Our Lady of the Angels
6. Red Shoes (VR vocal)  
7. Song for Les Preger
8. For Rebecca
9. Final Cut
10. When the World (Newson Mix) 
11. Arpeggiator II
12. Pol in AB
13. 30 Oldham Street
14. When the World (Soundtrack) 
15. Our Lady
16. White Rabbit
17. When the World (Version)

Disc 3
1. Prayer (live)
2. Arpeggiator (live)
3. Our Lady of the Angels (live)
4. Pol in B (live)
5. Miss Haymes (live)
6. For Mother (live)
7. Requiem (live)
8. Jacqueline (live)
9. Elevator Sequence (live)
10. The Missing Boy (live)
11. When the World (live)
12. Tomorrow (live)
13. English Landscape Tradition (live)
14. Bordeaux Sequence (live)

For further information see


Donate towards our web hosting bill!
		at the iTunes store