• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Cabaret Voltaire, "Johnny Yesno Redux" 2CD+2DVD

E-mail Print PDF

Release Date: 29 August 2011

Mute announce the release of a box set of music and film, comprising the original Johnny Yesno film, a new re-imagining of the film alongside 140 minutes of bonus material and 2 CDs including new mixes by Richard H. Kirk plus exclusive tracks.

Peter Care’s controversial short film, ‘Johnny YesNo’, was made in 1979. Its original soundtrack, recorded and produced by Cabaret Voltaire, was released as an album two years later.

Cabaret Voltaire, alongside Human League, Throbbing Gristle, Fad Gadget and The Normal, were at the forefront of the UK Electronic Movement of the late '70s and were, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts of the last thirty years. Way ahead of their time, Cabaret Voltaire were prolific with blending dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental.

Peter Care is mainly known for his directing effort in music videos where he created several groundbreaking works.  One of them, Sensoria, became the most successful "underground" video of all time. He worked with REM, Bruce Springsteen, Depeche Mode and Tina Turner, amongst others. More recently, in 2005, Care received a Lifetime Achievement Award for his music videos and directed episodes of the HBO Series, Six Feet Under.


Disc 1
  1. Premonition (Remix)
  2. News From Nowhere (Remix)
  3. Yashar - Insurgent Mix (Remix)
  4. If The Shadows Could March (Remix)
  5. Loosen The Clamp 2
  6. Invocation (Remix)
  7. Partially Submerged (Remix)
  8. Hallucination Sequence (Remix)
  9. Invocation 2 (Remix)
  10. The Quarry 2 (Remix)
Disc 2
  1. Taxi Music 1 (Remix)
  2. Taxi Music 2 (Remix)
  3. Premonition 2 (Remix)
  4. Hallucination Sequence 2 (Remix)
  5. The Quarry (Remix)
  6. Partially Submerged 2 (Remix)
  7. If The Shadows Could March?
  8. Loosen The Clamp (Remix)
  9. Taxi Music 3 (Remix)
  10. Invocation 4 (Remix)
Disc 3 - DVD
  1. Johnny Yesno – Original 1982 version plus trailer
Disc 4 - DVD
  1. Johnny Yesno – Redux 2009


Donate towards our web hosting bill!
		at the iTunes store