Reviews Search

2/20/2011 - 2/26/2011

Look for new music from Six Organs of Admittance, Jim O'Rourke with Christoph Heemann, Earth, Gareth Hardwick, Hercules and Love Affair, and Cult of Youth and old music from William Basinski, The Books, and Master Musicians of Bukkake.

Adele, "21" (XL) LP/CD
Arbouretum, "The Gathering" (Thrill Jockey) CD/LP
Joan Armatrading, "Live at the Royal Albert Hall" (429) CD+DVD
Balkansky (a.k.a. COOH) & Loop Stepwalker, "Fraktals" (Ad Noiseam) 12"
Julianna Barwick, "The Magic Place" (Asthmatic Kitty) CD
*William Basinski, "A Red Score in Tile" (Streamline) CD
Beach Fossils, "What A Pleasure" (Captured Tracks) CD/EP
Beans, "End It All" (Anticon) CD/LP
* Okko Bekker, "East Indian Traffic / Ganges Delta" (Tramp) 7"
* The Books, "The Lemon of Pink" (Temporary Residence) CD/LP
The Caribbean, "Discontinued Perfume" (Hometapes) CD
Tim Catlin & Machinefabriek, "Patina" (Low Point) LP
Cave Singers, "No Witch" (Jagjaguwar) LP/CD
Chain and the Gang, "Music's Not for Everyone" (K) LP/CD
Jerome Chassagnard, "The Time From Underneath" (Hymen) CD
Creep, "Days" (Young Turks) 12"
Cult of Youth, "Cult of Youth" (Sacred Bones) CD/LP
Danielson Famile, "Best of Gloucester County" (Sounds Familyre) CD
Davila 666, "Tan Bajo" (In The Red) CD/LP
Arnold Dreyblatt, "Turntable History" (Important) CD
Earth, "Angels of Darkness, Demons of Light 1" (Southern Lord) CD
Thomas Fehlmann, "Titan One / DFM" (Kompakt) 12"
G. Love, "Fixin’ To Die" (Brushfire) CD
Gareth Hardwick, "Sunday Afternoon" (Low Point) LP
Heinali, "67 Breaths" (Arlen) CD
Hercules and Love Affair, "Blue Songs" (Moshi Moshi) LP/CD
Hotels, "On The Casino Floor" (Hidden Shoal) CD
Julia Kent, "Green & Grey" (Important) CD
Sophia Knapp, "Nothing to Lose" (Drag City) 7"
Hanno Leichtmann, "The African Twintowers Suite" (Dekorder) CD/LP
Andrew Liles, "Miraculous Mechanical Monster" (Dirter Promotions) CD/LP
Francisco Lopez & Maurizio Bianchi, "KRMN-FL / KRMN-ML" (Important) CD
Low Anthem, "Smart Flesh" (Nonesuch) CD
Malachai, "Return to the Ugly Side" (Domino) CD/LP
* Master Musicians Of Bukkake, "Totem 2" (Important) LP
Millipede, "Powerless" (Hymen) CD
Munk, "The Bird & the Beat" (Gomma) CD
Dustin O’Halloran, "Lumiere" (FatCat) CD/LP
Jim O'Rourke & Christoph Heemann, "Plastic Palace People Vol 1" (Streamline) CD
Pandit, "Eternity Spin" (Waaga) CD
Phineas & The Lonely Leaves, "The Kids We Used To Be" (Lonely Leaves) CD
Pollution Salute, "Neon" (Lost Tribe Sound) CD
Porcelain Raft, "Gone Blind" (Acephale) EP
* Michel Potage, "Occupé" (Alga Marghen) LP
The Psychic Paramount, "II" (No Quarter) CD/LP
Rainbow Arabia, "Without You" (Kompakt) 7"
Gil Scott-Heron, "We're New Here (remixes)" (XL) LP/CD
Semimomime (a.k.a. DJ Hidden), "From Memory" (Ad Noiseam) CD
Six Organs of Admittance, "Asleep On The Floodplain" (Drag City) CD/LP
Toro Y Moi, "Underneath the Pine" (Carpark) CD/LP
Yussuf Jerusalem, "Blast from the Past" (Floridas Dying) LP
[V/A], "Riddimentary: Diplo Selects Greensleeves" (VP) CD
[V/A], "Strade Trasparenti" OST (Staubgold) CD
[V/A], "Those Shocking Shaking Days: Indonesian Hard, Psychedelic, Progressive Rock and Funk: 1970-1978" (Now Again) CD/3xLP