O Yuki Conjugate release new CD.

‘The Euphoria of Disobedience’ marks their re-emergence after a 10-year hiatus.


Just one short decade after making their last album, UK ambient pioneers O Yuki Conjugate (OYC) release a new CD called "The Euphoria of Disobedience" (TEOD) on their OYC Limited label. This calls for a celebration, and indeed an explanation.


O Yuki Conjugate have released four studio albums and innumerable spin-off and side projects since their first gig in Nottingham in 1982. Currently in their third incarnation, the ever-youthful OYC have cancelled their hip replacements and are going all-out for superannuated ambient glory with their latest CD.


Started in 2002 and completed in late 2006, TEOD explores an area OYC have christened “dirty ambient” – multi layered, hyper textural and distinctly gritty. Less obviously ethnic than previous OYC releases, the perfumed garden of Eno's classic ambience is replaced by rough edges, noxious odours and abrasive textures. The result is a jagged beauty.


OYC are releasing TEOD as both an MP3 download and a numbered limited edition of 1000 in a unique digipak fronted with a hand cast resin tile. Both available only through their website at www.oyukiconjugate.com. In the States this is also available through Soleilmoon & Projekt.


The release of TEOD marks a new period of activity for the group. Their entire back catalogue is currently being made available as downloads from iTunes and their website. OYC are also working on at least one follow-up album provisionally scheduled for release in mid 2007.



·       The 3rd incarnation of O Yuki Conjugate (OYC) is made up of original members Roger Horberry (RH) and Andrew Hulme (AH) with new addition Rob Jenkins (RJ).

§       Originally from Nottingham and now based in London, OYC record in RJ’s impressively analogue studio in deepest Middlesex.

§       The OYC-ers all run side projects – Stone Idols (RJ), Alp (RH) and A Small Good Thing (AH).

§       TEOD features a contribution from composer Cliff Martinez, known for his scores for Steven Soderbergh films

§       OYC have released four full length albums…

- “Scene in Mirage” (LP a-mission 1984) later re-issued as “Primitive” (CD  Staalplaat 1996)

- “Into Dark Water” (LP Final Image 1986) later re-issued as “Undercurrents” (CD, Staalplaat 1992)

- “Peyote” (CD Projekt 1991)

- “Equator” (CD Staalplaat 1994)

Plus a remix album “Sunchemical” (CD Staalplaat 1996)

§       Go to www.oyukiconjugate.com for more background information.

§       Contact OYC at oyc at oyukiconjugate.com





‘The Euphoria of Disobedience’

(OYCLimited1 CD)


1 noiseflaw

2 in dreams, perhaps

3 slither

4 binaryglow

5 out through the skin

6 tropospheric

7 where she goes at night

8 incomplete

9 sunlessglare

10 dirty roads